Monday, 30 April 2012

Secular Café: Why is cheating amoral?

Secular Café
Discuss philosophical concepts and moral issues.
Why is cheating amoral?
May 1st 2012, 04:34

Personally, I've only cheated once in my life (and it was hardly considered cheating, since the one thing I wrote down on my hand wasn't even on the test), but I've let people cheat off me, and I honestly don't care if I do all the work in a group project. I don't see the big deal.


So, as I see it, people think cheating is "wrong" because:
a) It's against the rules
b) It's unfair
c) It hinders learning
d) grade inflation


But, as far as I'm concerned:
a) I understand rules are put in place to prevent society from breaking down, but rules are not absolute, most of them were established by some guy like you or me. Who are we to say what is right and what is wrong? I get that this "no cheating/copying" rule is to protect the livelihood of innovators and artists, but honestly isn't "inspiration" to some extent, copying? Obviously, petty cheating is not the same, but I don't see how copying some kids answers, in any way, endangers the smart kid, and quite frankly, the cheaters that don't get caught are some of the most creative kids I know. The only thing I really get is that it could come across as disrespectful.

b)Grades (in high school, non AP courses, though I've never heard of a cheater setting the curve before) are absolute rather than relative, so why does it matter in school? (I get it more in work life, but, more on that later)
Unfairness is worthy of it's own discussion, but for the sake of this discussion -- yea, so is life. Unfairness is tolerated all the time.

c) Like I said before, the good cheaters are pretty damn creative, and think more outside the box than some of those "smart" kids. Of course, not all cheaters are, and many are just plain lazy. For the sake of argument, I'm talking about the perpetually lazy or just flat out "dumb" ones. Well, then, if that's the case, they'll be screwed in real life, won't they? - Let them scrape out some nice grades in high school. It's just four years (eight if you count college), but the ruse won't last too long. At some point their gaping knowledge holes will be clear. To those who still think cheating is unfair... isn't this what you'd call karma? Plus, force someone not to cheat, does that mean they'll try harder in school? Study more? Maybe, maybe not. At least most of the people I know who cheat a lot, wouldn't've bothered learning the material anyways.

d) Seriously? Grades are meager representations of a students true ability. I've know plenty of kids in all AP with A's who don't have a lick of analytically skill. Regurgitation of information gets you pretty damn far in school, but not necessarily in life (though, I guess that can get you pretty far, depending on the type of boss(es) you have and certain professions). Cheating is only a small part of the recent grade inflation, most of it is due to some insane phobia of and failure.


I'm not saying I like cheaters, or dislike, them, but in some strange irony, one of my most honest, real friends is a heavy cheaters, and one of the fakest people I know is morally outraged by cheating.

So, give me you're reasons or back me up :). I'm curious if I'm just some apathetic, amoral sociopath, or if my argument actually makes any sense. Also, I just want a better understanding of the other side of the argument. Sorry for the length :P

You are receiving this email because you subscribed to this feed at blogtrottr.com.

If you no longer wish to receive these emails, you can unsubscribe from this feed, or manage all your subscriptions

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.